Scottish gemmological association


GemSet2016 -  Jewellery Design Competition

Each year our association invites jewellery design students from the various colleges across Scotland to enter our annual design competition. The emphasis is on encouraging an interest in gemstones in all their different forms and to include gemstones within their jewellery designs.

This year we received over fifty entries from all over Scotland. The judging panel was composed of three members of the SGA plus two guest judges with a design/arts background and an evening was spent discussing and comparing the virtues of each entry.

The standard of design and making was high and we would like to congratulate all students on the work submitted. We would also like to thank the tutors and staff at the colleges for the assistance and encouragement they have provided.

This year we are proud to make the following awards:

First Prize:

Paula Sloan Glasgow School of Art

Second Prize:

Beatrice Ullah Glasgow Kelvin College

Third Prize:

Natasha King Clyde College

Highly Commended (in no particular order):

Nadia Tahar Glasgow Kelvin College

Nicola Fabian Edinburgh College of Art

Alexandra Myles Glasgow School of Art

Yanjuan Li Glasgow Kelvin College

Laura Provan Glasgow Clyde College

Xiao Qin Chen Glasgow Kelvin College


The winners and their guests were invited to an Awards Ceremony at the Scottish Gemmological Association Conference at The Peebles Hydro Hotel on Sunday 1st May 2016.  




The SGA is pleased to announce the following results:

GemSet15 - Scottish Gemmological Association

Jewellery Design Competition 2015


First Prize: Nicola Fabian - Glasgow Kelvin College

Second Prize: Julia Bauer - City of Glasgow College

Third Prize: Elke Mane Frerichs - Carnegie College

Highly Commended:

Isabel Distessi - Edinburgh College of Art

Nadia Tahar - Carnegie College

Mariuz Suliga -Glasgow Kelvin College

Paula Sloan - Glasgow Kelkin College

Prizewinners were presented with their certificates and prizes at our Annual Conference.

There are photographs of all the winning pieces below.



The 2015 Winners